backstory

exhibitions

In my earlier years I regularly exhibited at the annual M&C Fine Arts Exhibition that ran for several years in St. Lucia (now defunct sorry to say) and claimed several prizes for painting and visual arts.  In 2005 I did a solo show at the Alliance Française de Sainte-Lucie and after a long period managed to assemble enough work to participate in a group show at the Inner Gallery in January 2011.  My first showing in Kenya was at the International School of Kenya‘s Friends of the Arts (FOTA) exhibition held at the school in October 2015.  I am looking forward to exposure in Panama!

A few pieces of my original work are in the collection of the Art Centre and the Faculty of Forestry of the University of New Brunswick, Canada.  Over the years have exhibited at various galleries in St. Lucia including the Snooty Agouti and Artsibit Galleries (both now closed), the Anse Chastanet Gallery and The Inner Gallery.  Small collections of my work are on display at Windjammer Landing Villa Beach ResortSandals Halcyon Beach Resort (The Pier Restaurant) and Cap Maison Luxury Villa Resort and Spa.

I have had the pleasure of being commissioned by the Government of Saint Lucia to provide original pieces for the then President of the People’s Republic of China on Taiwan and Prince Charles, Prince of Wales during their official state visits to Saint Lucia.

Meeting Prince Charles on official visit to St. Lucia in 2008. With friend Conrad Wagner (left), wife Tanya and Dame Perlette Louisy, Governor General of St. Lucia (right). He was presented one of my paintings as a gift of the state.    Catherine Cooper of Cox & Co. Ltd. presenting to the captain of the RMS Queen Mary 2 on its first visit to St. Lucia, December 2010  Participating at the International School of Kenya Friends of the Arts (FOTA) show, October 2015).

 

 

 

publications

Featured in Air Jamaica Skywritings in-flight magazine (Mar-Apr 2008 issue)My work has been published in several environmental education publications.  Did commissions for the World Wildlife Fund (Guianas, 2009), the regional Caribbean Conservation Association’s bird poster series (1986), the St. Lucia National Trust A-Z of St. Lucia Wildlife (2001),  Jacquot Magazine (early 1990s) and BushTalk (a newspaper supplement of the St. Lucia Voice Newspaper, 1980s) and feature illustration in the Birds of the West Indies (1998) published by Princeton University Press.  Featured in Air Jamaica Skywritings in-flight magazine (Mar-Apr 2008 issue), Tropical Traveller Magazine (various issues, St. Lucia), Where Magazine (St. Lucia).

   

 

 

 

creating Chris Cox Originals…my art scrapbook story

This is a time capsule featuring my oldest art scrapbook; I’ve had it since 1986. Memories of the inspiration I drew on to create my artwork in my early days working with the Saint Lucia Forestry Department while exploring my beautiful island!  Click on the image to the right to open the scrapbook…would love to hear your feedback and feel free to share!

Artist friends…St. Lucia and the world beyond!

Andrew Kamiti, Kenya (http://www.andrewkamiti.com/)Elena Chelysheva - KenyaGuy Combes, Kenya (https://www.guycombes.com/)  Hally Blanchard, Kenya  Sam Njuguna, Kenya (http://www.littlegallery.co.ke/portfolio/sam-njuguna/)  Sabrina Romulus, St. Lucia (https://www.facebook.com/sabrina.romulus)  Naja Simeon, St. Lucia (https://www.facebook.com/naja.simeon)  Jerry Gustave and Janet Cole-Lang, St. Lucia (https://www.facebook.com/janet.c.lang)  Gary Butte, St. Lucia (https://www.facebook.com/gary.butte.5)  Donna Grandin, Cynthia St. Omer, Dunstan St. Omer, St.Lucia (http://bluerootsartstudio.com/; https://www.facebook.com/Dunstan-GR-St-Omer-149104628461876/)  Dinks Johnson, St. Vincent (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lxk-0v4NKpM)  Daniel Jn. Baptiste, Alcina Nolley, Arnold Toulon, St. Lucia (http://www.jean-baptiste.com/; http://www.alcinanolley.com/Alcinas_Art_Gallery/Welcome.html; https://www.facebook.com/arnold.toulon)  Cedric George, Ken 'Scotty' Lawerence, St. Lucia (https://www.facebook.com/cedric.george3; https://www.facebook.com/ken.lawrence.585)  Alwyn St. Omer, St. Lucia (https://www.facebook.com/alwyn.omer?qsefr=1)  Akilah Jaramoji, Trinidad & Tobago (https://www.facebook.com/AkilahsJewelry/)  Olivette Wallace, St. Lucia (https://www.facebook.com/oli.wallace283)  St. Lucia artist gathering at my home, August 2014  Artists at the Inner Gallery show, St. Lucia, January 2011

Brin Edwards, UK (http://www.brin-edwards.com/)Ricky George, St Lucia (http://www.rickygeorge.com/index.html)


One thought on “backstory

  1. Caroline North

    I would be so grateful if you could help me, I’m trying to get back in touch with OliWallace and I’d be v grateful if you could pass on my details. Many thanks x

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.